Janelle Harper

BIO

JANELLE HARPER is a Bronx native who proudly carries her New York accent anywhere she goes. She finds inspiration in city living and the diverse experiences of the African Diaspora. She is passionate about creating stories that reflect the children within her community. When she is not enjoying the hidden gems of the Bronx, she is traveling and exploring new cultures. She is a proud veteran public school teacher who comes from a long line of educators. Her debut picture book, My Block Looks Like, illustrated by two-time Coretta Scott King award winner Frank Morrison, has received starred reviews from Kirkus Review and Publishers Weekly and was named a Junior Library Guild Gold Standard Selection. Visit her online at JanelleHarperAuthor.com.

MY BLOCK LOOKS LIKE

From debut author and Bronx native Janelle Harper and two-time Coretta Scott King Illustrator Award winner, Frank Morrison, comes My Block Looks Like, a love letter to the hustle, the bustle, the joy, and the grit of city life. A lyrical and proud picture book that recognizes the beauty of the bodegas, subways, and playgrounds that characterize everyday life in the Bronx and pays homage to the ways that its residents have shaped pop culture through music, visual art, and dance. Perfect for fans of I Am Every Good Thing and Last Stop on Market Street, this picture book offers kids a reaffirming message to celebrate and uplift their communities in an energetic text that begs to be read aloud.